A.O. Collins Lectures

Featured Guest: David Aune
Lecture title: “What is a Gospel?”

7 p.m., Wednesday, October 10, in the HBU Mabee Theater

1 CLW Credit

Dr. Aune (emeritus Walter Professor of New Testament and Christian Origins at the University of Notre Dame) earned a BA in Greek and an MA in New Testament Language and Literature from Wheaton College, and an MA in Classical Studies from the University of Minnesota. Following his marriage to Mary Lou Lundberg, they moved from Minneapolis to Chicago where he earned a PhD in New Testament & Early Christian Literature at the University of Chicago in 1970. He taught initially at Saint Xavier College (now Saint Xavier University) from 1968 to 1990. During his tenure at Saint Xavier College, Aune was a Fulbright visiting professor at the University of Trondheim (Norway) in 1982-83. He then moved to Loyola University Chicago, where he held the position of professor of New Testament from 1990-1999. During this period, he was a recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt Forschungspreis Prize for a year of study at the University of Tübingen (Germany) in 1994-95. In 1999, he accepted the position of Professor of New Testament & Christian Origins at the University of Notre Dame (Notre Dame, Indiana). In 2001, he was elected a member of the Norwegian Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences (Det kongelige norske videnskabers selskab). Subsequently, he was the Annual Professor at the Albright Institute for Archaeological Research in Jerusalem (2002-3) and was concurrently awarded a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies. Professor Aune is the author of more than 100 articles in scholarly books, reference works and journals, and is the author or editor of a fifteen books, including “Prophecy in Early Christianity and the Ancient Mediterranean World” (Eerdmans, 1983), “The New Testament in Its Literary Environment” (Westminster, 1987), a three-volume commentary on the Revelation of John (Word and Thomas Nelson, 1998-99), and most recently has authored “The Westminster Dictionary of New Testament and Early Christian Literature and Rhetoric” (Westminster John Knox, 2003). He is a member of several professional societies including the American Philological Association, the Chicago Society of Biblical Research (of which he was president in 1984-85), the Society of Biblical Literature (he was president of the Midwest Region of the Society of Biblical Literature from 2000 to 2002), and the Studiorum Novi Testamenti Societas. He and his wife currently reside in Niles, Michigan and are members of a local Lutheran church (ELCA).

About the A. O. Collins Lectures

The A. O. Collins lectures began in 1993 with the goal of bringing recognized scholars to address the university community in current trends in theology, religious studies and philosophy. The series is named for Dr. A. O. Collins who chaired HBU’s Department of Christianity and Philosophy until his retirement in 1990. Over the last two decades, due to the generosity of former students and friends of the university, top scholars from around the world have lectured on our campus on a wide range of topics on religion and philosophy.

Some of our past lecturers have included:

  • Dr. James H. Charlesworth, Princeton Theological Seminary
  • Dr. Walter Brueggemann, Columbia Theological Seminary
  • Dr. Charles Talbert, Baylor University
  • Dr. Ellen T. Charry, Princeton Theological Seminary
  • Dr. Luke Timothy Johnson, Emory University
  • Dr. Alan Segal, Barnard College, Columbia University
  • Dr. Samuel Proctor, Duke University
  • Dr. John Howard Yoder, University of Notre Dame
  • Dr. James W. McClendon, Jr., Fuller Theological Seminary
  • Dr. Michael J. Gorman, St. Mary’s Seminary
  • Dr. Larry Hurtado, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr. Emanuel Tov, Hebrew University
  • Dr. Craig Evans, Acadia Divinity College
  • Dr. Richard Bauckham, St. Andrews University
  • Mark Lanier, Lanier Theological Library
  • Dr. John J. Collins, Yale Divinity School
  • Dr. Dale Alison, Princeton Theological Seminary


© 2019 School of Christian Thought