HBU is now Houston Christian University. Read more »

Merit Awards

Merit Awards are institutional scholarships awarded by HBU to new students in recognition of their academic achievements. These awards are available to all first-year residential students (Freshmen and Transfer) based upon GPA and class rank and are renewable so long as students maintain the listed minimum GPA requirement throughout their time at HBU. Merit Awards are not available for post-baccalaureate or online students and only apply to fall and spring semesters – they cannot be applied towards summer courses.

Learn more about each type of Merit Award:


Merit Awards
Freshmen - Merit Awards


Merit Awards
Transfer - Merit Awards