Meritorious Service Award

Nominate an alumni for this award.

This award will be presented to alumni who have made significant, sustained contributions of time, energy and creativity toward the advancement of the University. They must show continuing interest and exemplify standards upon which Houston Baptist University is founded.

// 2014 Meritorious Service Alumnus Award //

Stephanie & Aaron Diehl

The 2014 recipient of the Meritorious Service Alumnus Award is Stephanie and Aaron Diehl. Aaron M. Diehl graduated from HBU in 2006 with a Bachelors of Business Administration. His wife Stephanie graduated from HBU in 2008 with a Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing.

Aaron and Stephanie have been long time supporters of HBU as students and continue to serve The University as young alumni. They are both current members of the HBU Football Founders, the group of supporters that was that critical in launching the HBU Football program.
Aaron and Stephanie have also been very supportive of HBU academics. In 2013 they established the Diehl Family Endowed Scholarship. This Endowed Scholarship was part of a matching program geared to raise funds from HBU alumni.
The Diehls recently celebrated their 8th wedding anniversary and they have two beautiful daughters— Elle and Kate.
Aaron and Stephanie are great examples of the time and energy that is essential in continuing to grow HBU as a great institution. They are truly “Forever Huskies.”

Past Award Recipients:

2013 Mark Denison '82
2012 Rita Marie Tauer '85
2011 Lynn Kiesewetter '92
2010 Dr. Percy Howard III '85
2009 Terry Lewis '85
2008 Francis Bui '00
2007 Carol Lavender EMBA '92
Dee Pete-Jones EMBA '92
2006 Tadd Tellepsen MBA'99
2005 Catherine Neben '89
2004 Monica Hodges '94 & MEd'00
2003 Candace Adams Desrosiers '94
2002 Vivian Camacho '91
2001 Judi Vogel '94
2000 Robert M. Powell '76
1999 Rick Bailey '69
Rosemary Laird '87
1998 Rita LaRue '84
Dick Hudson '75
1997 Avie Croom Bailey '68
Saleim Robeen Kahleh '84
1996 Dr. Jennifer Berry Ferguson '68
Arthur "Chuck" Lang III '75 MEd '82
1995 Amy Butler '89
Ray LaDon Cox, Jr. '81
1994 Dawn Nelson '90
Steve L. Braun '80
1993 James M. Skaggs '73
Lois Shanks '82
1992 Jane Jester Marmion '68
Joel H. Berry III '72
1991 Karen Thomas Platt '83
David Stutts '82
1990 Rose Kay Parker '82
Randy Garbs '76 MBA '83