Demonstrating Your English Skills

International applicants will be asked to demonstrate their English proficiency. This is typically done through available testing or academic history. 

Please review the options and choose ONE of the four to satisfy your proficiency requirement. 

1. Testing Option
Only original score reports sent directly by the testing service will be considered. There is not an institution code for the IELTS exam, so students must request that the score be mailed directly. Only ONE of the following tests will be needed.

Test Minimum Score School Code

 TOEFL: Internet Based
80 6282
TOEFL:Paper Based 550 6282
IELTS 6.5 None
SAT I 480* on Critical Reading - 1000 Combined Score (without the writing score)

* International student athletes who submit SAT scores as part of their NCAA eligibility requirements must meet or exceed the 480 Critical Reading score to fulfill the general English proficiency requirement.
ACT 20 on English 21 Composite Score 4101

2. College Credit Option
Prospective international students who are applying from another U.S.. college or university (transfer students) may satisfy the English requirement by:

Successfully completing 2 semesters of non-remedial freshman English with a letter grade of 'C' or better. 
  • English Composition I
  • English Composition II

3. U.S.. Bachelor's Degree Option (Post-baccalaureate and Graduate Applicants Only)
Prospective international students who hold a Bachelor's degree from a U.S.. institution are exempt from demonstrating their English proficiency. They do NOT have to provide a test result unless otherwise asked by the International Office.  

4. Exempt Country Option (Transfer and Graduates Only)
College credit transferred from one of the following countries exempts prospective international students from demonstrating English proficiency. International students applying with no college hours (Freshmen) will NOT be exempt.

Exempt Countries:

Antigua Liberia
Australia Montserrat
Bahamas New Zealand
Barbados Sierra Leone
Belize St. Kitts and Nevis
Bermuda St. Lucia
Canada (except Quebec region) St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Grenada Trinidad and Tobago
Guyana Turks and Caicos Islands
Jamaica United Kingdom
Kenya Virgin Islands - St. Croix, St. John, St. Thomas)