Distinguished Alumnus Award

Nominate an alumni for this award.

This award is to be given to alumni who have made a distinctive contribution in their profession. They must have consistently exemplified the standards upon which the University is founded. In no way is the award to be given on the basis of financial contribution to the University.

2013 Distinguished Alumnus Award

Honorable William Flores MBA '85

  • Bill Flores was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in November 2010. He is serving in his second term representing the 17th Congressional District of Texas.
  • Serves on the Board of Trustees of Houston Baptist University
  • Advisory board of the Ranching Heritage Association
  • Congressional Board of Directors of the Congressional Hispanic Leadership Institute (CHLI)
  • He and his wife Gina have provided scholarships, faculty fellowships, and infrastructure investments to support higher education at Texas A&M University and Houston Baptist University.
  • They are also major benefactors of K-12 education, including support for Yellowstone Academy, which provides elementary education to children in Houston’s inner city areas.

Past Award Recipients:

2012 Reverend W. Emory Gadd '77
2011 Joana Camacho-Matthynssens '93
2010 Dr. Voddie Baucham '92
2009 Randall O. Sorrels '84
2008 Michael Reinfeldt MBA '85
2007 Carlton Thompson '93
2006 Edwin B. Young '84
2005 Charles Reid '93
2004 Raymond Denson '74
2003 Manfred Jachmich '69
2002 Dr. Cliff McGee Jr. '89
2001 Bob Beauchamp MS '87
2000 Dr. Ronald L. Ellis '77
1999 Mark Denison '82
Lisa Morris Simon '76
1998 Dr. Judith Wallis '81 MEd '85
Colin S. Montgomerie '87
1997 Dr. Elizabeth Ann Harkins '73
Dr. Thomas Wheeler '75
1996 Elaine Wood '80
Ron Stone MLA '94
1995 Dr. Linda Fix Roff '69
Rick Bailey '69
1994 Pamela K. Moore '74 MBA '81
Stephen Picket '80
1993 Dr. Barbara Taylor-Cox '81
Dr. James C. Denison '80
1992 Carol Ann Halliday Bonds '68
Beverly Kay Kepler Bonner '68
Dr. John I. Brady Jr. '71
Dr. Mark E. Jensen '78
1991 Marsha Mathis Eckermann '68
Richard L. Hudson '75
1990 Dr. Nancy Yuill '72
Ronald "Steve" Woodall '84